The Royal BVI Yacht Club

The home of sailing, in the sailing capital of the world

Golden Hind Chandlery Commodore's Race

16 December 2023

The Commodore's Race is the final event in the RBVIYC calendar and is traditionally followed by the Commodore's Dinner and Annual Awards Ceremony.

Sponsors over the years have included Island Shipping and Trading before O'Neal & Mundy took up the title from 2004 to 2021 and Golden Hind Chandlery from 2022.

The roll of honour:
1980 cancelled 1981 Stevie
Isaac Fonseca
1982 Jolie Brise
Robert King
1983 No wind
1984 Brise
Presley King
1985 Pipe Dream
Peter Haycraft
George Foster
1988 did not take place 1989 1990 Flako
Kevin Rowlette
1991 Pipe Dream
Peter Haycraft
1992 Pipe Dream
Peter Haycraft
1993 Pipe Dream
Chris Haycraft
1994 1995 Mermaid
Bill Beradelli
1996 Mermaid
Bill Beradelli
1997 Fast Idiots
Eddie Brockbank
1998 1999 Airgasm
Barney Crook
2000 Rushin' Rowlette
Kevin Rowlette
2001 Wildflower
Ron Noonan
2002 Willy T
Kevin Rowlette
2003 Willy T
Kevin Rowlette
2004 Pipe Dream
Peter Haycraft
2005 Crew Clothing
Andrew Simpson
2006 Crew Clothing
Andrew Simpson
2007 Racing in Paradise
Matt Hood
2008 2009 Lime / Intac
Colin Rathbun
2010 2011 Triple Jack
Richard Wooldridge
2012 Pipe Dream
Peter Haycraft
2013 Intac
Andrew Waters
Pipe Dream
Chris Haycraft
2015 Boomorang
Kevin Wrigley
2016 Girasoli
Keith LiGreci
2017 Laser fun day... 
thanks to IrmaMaria
2018 Christian Thompson 2019 Airgasm
Barney Crook
2020 Odyssey
Miles Sutherland Pilch
2021 Ting a Ling
Chris Haycraft
2022 Ting Too
Chris Haycraft

Ting Too Wins 2022 Golden Hind Chandlery Commodore's Race
It was a slow start to the 2022 Golden Hind Chandlery Commodore's Race on 17 December.
Ting Too skippered by Chris Haycraft were the overall winners to wrap out the year on a high.
Ting a Ling Triumphs in 2021 O'Neal & Mundy Commodore's Race
The rescheduled 2021 edition of the O'Neal and Mundy Commodore's Race took place on Saturday 8 January.

Four trimarans took to the race course for a spectacular sail out in the Sir Francis Drake Channel.  Blustery winds in the upper teens and gusting over 20 knots made for a wet ride, the perfect way to blow away those new year cobwebs!

Odyssey & Whoop Whoop Win 2020 O'Neal & Mundy Commodore's Race
Ten boats registered for the 2020 O'Neal & Mundy Commodore's Race on Saturday 19 December.  It was a day of shifty winds and rain squalls but a cracking day for a yacht race

Airgams Wins 2019 O'Neal & Mundy Commodore's Race
Barney Crook's trimaran Airgasm won the 2019 edition of the O'Neal & Mundy Commodore's Race

Christian Thompson Wins 2018 O'Neal & Mundy Commodore's Race
Christian Thompson has won the 2018 O'Neal & Mundy Commodore's Race racing a Laser.  The junior division was claimed by Samuel Allen whilst Nathan and Chris Haycraft won the RS Feva class.

Click here to read the full report

And here for photos