The Royal BVI Yacht Club

The home of sailing, in the sailing capital of the world

Governor's Cup

Saturday 20 April 2024
The Governor's Cup Race first took place in 1997 with the trophy donated by then Governor His Excellency David Mackilligan.

The winners roll-call since then reads:

1997 Fastidiots
Eddie Brockbank
1998 Fastidiots
Eddie Brockbank
1999 Airgasm
Barney Crook
2000 Airgasm
Barney Crook
2001 Airgasm
Barney Crook
2002 Rushin Rowlette
Kevin Rowlette
2003 Willy T
Kevin Rowlette
2004 Crew Clothing
Andrew Simpson
2005 Mistress Quickly
Guy Eldridge
2006 Fiona
Colin Rathbun
2007 Fiona
Colin Rathbun
2008 Luxury Girl
2009 Abandoned
(lack of wind)
2010 Jurakan
David West
2011 Rushin Rowlette
Kevin Rowlette
2012 Pipe Dream
Peter Haycraft
2013 Rushin Rowlette
Kevin Rowlette
2014 Rushin Rowlette
Kevin Rowlette
2015 Pipe Dream
Chris Haycraft
2016 Spike
Sam Talbot
2017 Spike
Sam Talbot
2018 Irma 2019 Did not take place 2020 COVID
2021 Ting a Ling
Chris Haycraft
Moxie - Pat Nolan
2022 Island Hops
Mark Sanders
2023 Trike
Sam Talbot

2022 Governor's Cup Race
The 2022 Governor's Cup was won by Mark Sander's Island Hops
2021 Governor's Cup Race
Chris Haycraft's Ting a Ling and Pat Nolan's Moxie were the winners at the 2021 Governor's Cup held on Saturday 24 April.

It was champagne sailing for the seven Corsair trimarans and six monohulls who took to the water and there was plenty of action!  

Read the full report here

Latitude 18
2017 Governor's Cup Race

J111 Spike, skippered by Sam Talbot Wins Consecutive Governor's Cup Race

Spike, owned by Brian Nixon and skippered by Sam Talbot won the 2017 Governor's Cup Race on Saturday, retaining their title from 2016.

Seven boats contested the race on a brilliant BVI race day over a 17 mile course starting at Nanny Cay, rounding Little Thatch to port, rounding the eastern most Rhone anchor dive buoy in Peter Islands' Great Harbour to port and returning to the finish off Nanny Cay.

Click here for a photo gallery